Managing kids activities and blogging

With the start of the new school year in Belgium, the activities for the children also start again. As part of our education goals, we want them to be social, be sporty and build up experiences. Both of our girls are now old enough to take on some sport activity.

We need to plan a little better our weekends. Next to their sport activity, there are the household chores and of course some me-time to blog, read on PF, manage the investment portfolio.

It turns out you can combine some of the above activities… If you are flexible on what you do where, there is always a solution

Due to the age difference of the girls, they can not take on a sports activity together. The time schedule is different for both of them. This means dropping off the oldest, back home,  picking up the oldest, back home, and repeat for the youngest one. That is what a cab driver feels like. In the initial setup,we were not able to optimize with other parents as they were the only ones on that specific activity.

After looking around and speaking to other parents, we are testing today an activity where some kids from the school also go to. This creates opportunities to organize the transport going forward. Imagine the time gain if there is one shared ride to the activity.

We also suggested to the oldest one to take 2 lessons. She is doing this as I write. At this time, both kids are sporting in the same place. It is gym, she really likes it. During summer already, she practiced some moves on our trampoline at home. She is also very open to discover new things and in a playground, she climbs everything she spots. I want to stimulate her curiosity

And what about me? I am blogging, leveraging modern technology: a laptop and a WIFI hotspot on my mobile phone. It also allows me to be in the same gymroom as the oldest one. At the start of class 2, she was skeptical… I promised here I would stay and watch her. I am curious to see how she feels after the lesson.

What is the lesson here:

You need to flexible to look for solutions beyond the obvious one that you spot first. It takes some more planning and looking around, but the benefit is worth it.

I am sitting here on my behind in a gym room with a laptop (I am actually the only one, kinda weird. Others limit themselves to a book or eReader). I do not mind doing this. I can watch from time to time the oldest one, she sees me, and this will probably help her to take the second gym class.

The organisation is also flexible: they allow parents to sit in the gym room and watch the kids. I do not know if this will still be the case a few weeks from now… But there is a cafeteria around, so that is a good alternative

We now approach the end of the second gym class. She looked at me and gave 2 thumbs up… Lets see what she has to tell and what she does next time.

Do you have some examples where you are creative and flexible to reach a far better solution?

11 thoughts on “Managing kids activities and blogging

  1. Ciao ATL,

    I do not have first hand experience but I see my sister and sometimes I envy the way she is so flexible with her kids when it comes to planning and changing things at the very last minute. So she also adapted to them in order to do her own things. Sometimes is not possible to follow them, but that’s when my dad comes into play to help out… Parallel thinking is how they call it, being able to look at a problem from different angles, also “strange” ones, I am good at this at work, but when I see my sis I wonder if I can do it with kids too…. 😛

    ciaociao

    Stal

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing your experience. I bet its tricky trying to find some me-time and get the things done when you have the schlep the kids around all the time. We are not there yet, but we are hoping things wont be as bad when we have kids 🙂 But it could all be wishful thinking – we’ll see in the coming years

    cheers
    R2R

    Like

    1. The first years with kids is different. They have not yet their own life and plans. Once they get a little older, they start to realize that they are a unique person themselves, with their own plans and ideas. We balance between what we think is best for them and what they want to explore.

      Like

  3. Ahh…the balancing act at work 🙂 I do not have anything concrete that will help you but I do have one tip which may or may not apply to you.

    Each kid is different and so is mine. If I take my kid to class and I am in the audience, my kid expects me to pay attention when the kid’s turn comes. Basically, special effort is put forth by the kid to show to the parents…whether it be me or my wife. If I was caught working at those times, I will hear about it and it leads to some bad emotions in my kid. So, just watch how your kid reacts to your multi-tasking and go from there.

    PS: The only way I do it it: try to make it to all the kid shows and activities at the cost of 4-6 hours of work on Sat and Sun….early morning before anybody wakes up. Lame…but that is the best I could come up with.

    Hope that helps.

    Like

    1. I do think the same about attending a show. There they will have my full attention. Right now, it is weekly practice. Part of their learning is that I can not bet there 100 pct of the time. If our co driving with other parents gets up to speed, I will not be there at all.

      Like

  4. Nicely done ATL, sounds like you’re finding some great balance and ‘synergies’ in your activities.

    I personally struggle a little more with trying to combine and optimize activities like this. I’m just happier and more at ease when i can give my full attention to one thing or the other, especially my family. Some smaller things work well for me though, like writing on my laptop on the train on the way to work. But in general, I’m just accepting that I need to to less of some things, and that its OK to take it slower.

    Like

    1. Combing is not always easy and feasible. Not all task allow for that.
      Doing less, is something that I have being doing the last few years. I give more time to my kids, so, other topics get way less time. TV is one of the loosers…

      Like

  5. I involved my girl in the shopping list and shopping session. As a financial education, she is going to the market to pick the vegetables, to decide how much it is a kilo /a half of kilo, ask the price, count the money, pay, count the rest.
    It was a good lesson for me to include her at the level of her comprehension, but now she is quite ‘mature’ and interested.

    Like

Leave a Reply

