Garden dividend

During the winter, we have remodeled our garden and driveway. We had some wishes, including the following 2: place for a mini-vegetable garden for the wife and room for a berry-corner for me. Both our personal wishes became reality! Once the works were finished, I could not wait to see eat the results.During May and June, we have seen already some very sunny days. I checked the berry corner from time till time, and then, finally, they were there, our first berries. I was happy and excited.

redberriesShould I consider this passive income?

It is great to see that all the hard work in the garden starts to pay of some results. We now get a return on the investment we make. We could call itΒ  a dividend. There is one major difference with real dividends: IT IS NOT PASSIVE! No matter how I look at it, I can not consider this passive income. The garden requires us to work: mow the lawn, get rid of weed, give water, trim 2 a year,… Not that I want to complain: I start to enjoy more and more the garden work. I now mentally cut it into small tasks that I can handle in a hour work. Turns out that I can do that. I just need a plan and execute it (kinda like an investment plan?)

Next to the berries, we also had already some great salad form the garden as well as some ingredients for soup.

Estimated garden dividend

We are expecting still the following items

  • more berries: red berries, strawberries, blue berries
  • more salad
  • some spices
  • walnuts

I especially look forward to the walnuts. We decided to replace an apple tree with a walnut tree? Why? They were non eatable apples! why the hell would you put that into your garden? Beats me! (Before you ask: no, we did not plant it, it was there when we bought the house)

Do you have some fruits that you get back from the garden?

9 thoughts on “Garden dividend

  1. I like growing berries as well. My strawberry, blackberry, tayberry and gooseberry plants are quite productive. The raspberries are struggling a bit since I relocated them to containers as they spread like crazy in full ground.

    Like

  2. Nice berries. I hear you on the non-eatable apples…our neighbors have that and our deck is full of apples – all useless, making a mess adn nothing else. The damn squirrels seem to enjoy them though!

    cheers
    R2R

    Like

    1. In the mean time we have had way more berries than we expected for a first year. And soo happy to see no more non-eatable apples. I now look forward to the wallnuts in September

      Like

  3. This year was my first forlay into gardening and I’m loving it. While not passive, per se, it’s still more frugal living growing your own food at a significant discount. Not to mention, you can control the variables with the additives etc. Thanks for sharing, as I was planning on writing a post about the benefits of gardening on my finances over at my little blog.

    Like

  4. Good stuff Amber Tree!

    We had many raspberries in a rough patch in the garden but rooted most of them up as not a major fan of the taste. I saved a few and put them in a corner and they’ve provided a few already. I’m freezing them and saving them up to make a raspberry and apple crumble in a few weeks when I have enough πŸ™‚

    We’ve got a few beans but surprisingly the best plant so far has been our mange tout, which looked all but dead around 1 week after planting… they’ve really come back with a vengeance!

    I agree on that it’s no way passive income. I’m nowhere near breaking even on money invested in year one, after equipment, seeds, plants. Let alone time. As my skills and hopefully yeilds improve in year 2, 3 and beyond though I am hoping that it at least makes financial sense, if not time wise. But gardening is enjoying to me right now so as long as that stays that way, it’s a good fun and productive hobby to have.

    Like

  5. it is not passive but it is a source of money. You work, you are paid.

    I am curious how you see this after one year πŸ™‚
    We have a biological garden rented from the commune, for 3 years. We pay 53 euro per year. I spend some money, some effort, I have fresh vegetable. I realize in the winter when the weekly budget spend for food increased with around 10-15%, plus the volume of green leafs.
    The biggest business I done with gardening in containers: condiments + aromatic plants are expensive in Belgium, so I have on my balcony some green containers. Extra plants are dried so I am covered ( almost) for the winter.

    Like

Leave a Reply

